Kiev Fortress, National Historical and Architectural Museum
The National Historical and Architectural Museum "Kyiv Fortress" is a unique museum complex, created on the basis of fortifications of the Kiev fortress, which includes two museums - the Museum of the History of National Fortification and the Museum of the History of the use of buildings of the Kiev Fortress. The fortress of Kiev includes an open-air exposition with defensive shafts, a fortress wall and caponeries, as well as the largest stone-earthen forest of Lisogorsk, with an area of more than 120 hectares. The fortifications, which are part of the Kiev fort, were built for almost 200 years from the 17th to the 19th century. For today, the Kiev fortress is one of the largest preserved fortifications in the world.
The Kyiv Fortress Museum is not only a museum of fortifications, many of its buildings are closely linked with the history of civil liberation movements in Ukraine. The garrison of the Kiev fortress took an active part in the revolutionary events in Kyiv at the beginning of the last century, including the 1907 uprising.
NIAM "Kyiv Fortress" is the successor of the Museum "Kosy Kaponir", which was founded in 1930 as a branch of the Museum of the Revolution, and since 1940 acted as a branch of the State Historical Museum. In 1991, in the decision of the Kyiv City Council of People's Deputies the Kosi Kaponir Museum was renamed the Historical-Architectural Monument "Kyiv Fortress". In 2007, by the decree of the President of Ukraine, the "Kyiv Fortress" Museum was granted the status of the National.