Mikhail Bulgakov Museum is a museum in Kiev, Ukraine, dedicated to Kiev-born Russian writer Mikhail Bulgakov.Commenced in February 1989, and opened on May 15, 1991, for the 100th anniversary of the writer's birth, the museum is located at №13 on the Andriyivskyy Descent and contains an exposition of nearly 2500 pieces that include Bulgakov's belongings, books, postcards, and photos - conveying the life and creativity of the writer and his surroundings. The atmosphere of the house reflects the writer's life - as a secondary school pupil, student of medicine, family doctor, and writer—when Bulgakov wrote The White Guard, The Master and Margarita, and Theatre Love Story.The building itself, erected in 1888 and designed by architect N. Gardenin, was thoroughly renovated before the opening of the museum. A memorial plaque with Bulgakov's portrait now hangs on the front of the building. The White Guard novel makes vivid references to the Andriyivskyy Descent, and the current plaque of the address at №13 displays the street name the writer used in his book . Inna Konchakovskaia, daughter of the owner and niece of composer Witold Maliszewski, preserved this unique house for Kiev in the hard Soviet times.